Ancient High House

The Ancient High House is one of the finest Tudor buildings in the country which once dominated the skyline of Stafford.

Built in around 1595 for the wealthy Dorrington family, the ornate timber framed building is reputed to be the largest surviving timber framed town house in England from the Tudor period.

In 1986 the house opened as a museum and now provides a fascinating glimpse into the lives of the people who have lived there over the centuries.

An exciting programme of exhibitions by regional artists takes place in two gallery spaces and a changing history exhibition gives visitors the opportunity to view a range of artefacts not generally on public display.

There is a school and group tour programme and occasional themed tours, talks and workshops to support our history exhibitions. Throughout the year we have an exciting range of events, activities and workshops that bring added colour and bustle to the rooms.

Our ground floor shop offers a wide range of gifts, souvenirs, traditional toys and local crafts. We also stock an extensive range of local history books.

With hands on activities, children’s games and quizzes there is something for all the family.


The Ancient High House is located on Greengate Street, Stafford, ST16 2LA

Opening hours and contact details

Opening hours: Tuesday – Saturday 10.00am – 4.00pm

Call us: 01785 619131

Email us:


Izaak Walton’s Cottage

Izaak Walton, the celebrated author of the ‘Compleat Angler’, owned this charming cottage that nestles in the tiny hamlet of Shallowford, between Stafford and Eccleshall. His charming thatched 16th century half-timbered cottage will be of interest to anglers and non anglers alike. It offers a marvellous insight into the history of fishing and the literary talent of Stafford’s famous son.

Izaak left the cottage in his will to the people of his home town of Stafford, and now the museum pays homage to his illustrious life.  Inside we learn about Izaak Walton the merchant, churchman, biographer, writer, angler, and Royalist. We learn of his great contribution to the genre of biography and his influence as an early conservationist.

Within the cottage the period rooms are furnished to reflect the rural trappings of the 17th Century. There are also rooms dedicated to Izaak the writer and biographer and to the history and evolution of angling.

The ground floor shop has a range of gifts, souvenirs and local arts and crafts.  Nestled within the beautiful Staffordshire countryside, its tranquil environment is perfect for a calm and relaxing afternoon.  Why not enjoy afternoon tea or an ice cream in the knot garden or let the children run off their energy in the paddock field.

There is an events programme in the summer months and school and group tours can be booked on request.


Izaak Walton’s Cottage is located on Worston Lane, Stone, ST15 OPA

Opening hours and contact details

Opening hours: Sunday’s 1.00pm to 5.00pm May Through September

Call us: 01785 619131

Email us:

Stafford Castle

This prominent vantage point and strategic site was quickly recognised by the Normans, who built a huge timber fortress here by 1100 AD.  Originally built by Robert de Toeni, (later known as Robert of Stafford), in the Norman period, Stafford Castle has dominated the local skyline for over 900 years.

In the years shortly after the Norman invasion of 1066, William the Conqueror is believed to have ordered defences to be built against a still hostile and rebellious native community. The fortunes of the castle and its owners, the Stafford family, fluctuated greatly.

The site itself extends to over 26 acres and consists of a Keep, inner bailey, outer bailey, woodland, herb garden, visitor centre and car park. The Keep is open to the public during Visitor Centre opening hours.

The Visitor Centre has an audio visual display which tells the history of the castle; hands on items including arms, armour and costumes; a timeline to put the history of the castle into a national context; a display area with a changing programme of exhibitions and exhibits; and the opportunity to try your hand at coin minting and brass rubbing.

The Visitor Centre shop offers a wide range of gifts, souvenirs traditional toys and local crafts and we stock a large number of local history books. Also on sale are ice creams, soft drinks, hot drinks and hot sausage rolls and pasties.

Outside the centre visit the fragrant herb garden and discover what herbs were used for in the medieval period.

A full and exciting events programme includes re-enactments and wildlife shows. There is a school and group tour programme and occasional themed tours, talks and workshops.


Stafford Castle is located on the Newport Road, Stafford, ST16 1DJ

Opening hours and contact details

Stafford Castle Visitor Centre and Keep Summer Hours (April through October): 11.00am to 4.00pm, Wednesday through Sunday

Stafford Castle Visitor Centre and Keep Winter Hours (November through March): 11.00am to 4.00pm, Saturday and Sunday

Call us: 01785 257698

Email us: